ANGUSalive Meffan Winter Show 2019

The Meffan’s Winter Show started as the “Christmas Extravaganza”, an open exhibition with a purchase prize offered to enhance the Angus fine art collection with innovative and exciting work.

This annual show is now a key event in the Scottish arts calendar, providing an opportunity for artists of all levels based in Scotland to exhibit their work. Through the contributions of artists awarded prizes at the Winter Show, Angus has continued to develop a vibrant collection of art to be treasured for future generations.

The 2019 show attracted over 240 artworks for consideration from professional and amateur artists resident all across Scotland working in many different media.

Over 180 pieces were selected for the exhibition in Forfar’s Meffan Museum & Art Gallery. As well as showcasing their work in this open exhibition, each of the selected artists had the opportunity for their work to be chosen to become part of a public collection.

ANGUSalive’s Museums & Galleries team welcomed artists and art lovers to the ANGUSalive Meffan Winter Show 2019 Preview Night on Friday 15 November 2019.

Two purchase prizes are awarded, the ANGUSalive Purchase Prize of up to £1,500 and the Colin Dakers Memorial Purchase Prize of up to £1,000.

This year’s prize winners were announced at the Preview Night on Friday 15 November 2019:

ANGUSalive Purchase Prize

Lunan Bay [oil] by Karenina Johnson
Caddam Woods [photograph] by Finn Davie

Asha [oil on board] by Robert Farrow
Fresco [oil on woodblock] by Sylvia Tarvet
Glamis Castle [ink, acrylic and additional mixed media] by Alistair Campbell

Congratulations to Finn Davie and Karenina Johnson. The works Caddam Woods (photograph) and Lunan Bay (oil) respectively will become part of the Angus Council Collections managed by ANGUSalive.

The winning artists were also presented with tulip wood quaich’s produced by Forfar Academy pupils.

Colin Dakers Memorial Purchase Prize

Regeneration [mixed media] by Avril Cunningham

Butterfly Specimen Case [embroidery] by Tzipporah Johnston

Congratulations to Avril Cunningham. The winning artwork becomes part of the Angus Council Collections managed by ANGUSalive.

Pictured below left are prize winners Karenina Johnson, Finn Davie, Avril Cunningham and Councillor Proctor.

Visitors’ Choice Award

ANGUSalive also offers the Visitors’ Choice Award, a prize of £200 which is exclusively for amateur category artwork and chosen by public vote.

Congratulations to Liudmila Pisliakova who was announced the winner on Friday 13 December 2019 (pictured below right)