Opening Times

Thursday - Saturday 10:00-16:00

Entry is free

*Public Holidays

*Festive Opening Hours

Centre Details

Arbroath Signal Tower Museum, Ladyloan, Arbroath, DD11 1PU

telephone: 01241 464554

e-mail: ArbroathMuseum@angusalive.scot

Facilities

Birthday Parties
Clubs and Groups
WiFi

Accessibility

Accessible Toilets and Changing
Entrance is free!

Signal Tower Museum is located near Arbroath's picturesque and busy harbour, in a complex of buildings which were originally used as the shore station and accommodation for the Bell Rock Lighthouse. Built in 1813, Signal Tower served the lighthouse until it was decommissioned in 1955 and became a museum in 1974.

Hear about the story of the magnificent Bell Rock Lighthouse and how the coastal town's connection with the sea has influenced Arbroath's social, industrial and ecclesiastical history. Using multi-media displays and historic objects, the museum tells the story of Arbroath's fishing and maritime industries.

Visitors can climb the dramatic spiral staircase and visit the tower room, or those who are unable to climb the 70 steps and ladder into the room there is an opportunity for a virtual visit, which is also available in Gaelic, Polish and Romanian. Bookings for a Tower Tour can be made online here.

What's On   Holiday Activities   Venue Hire

 

Clubs & Groups Visits

Parties welcome - please book in advance.

School Visits

Location

Situated beside Arbroath harbour on the A92. Wheelchair access to lower floors. Computer system provides information in regard to upper floor.

Parking

Off street parking is available in Angus Council sites (charges apply).

A small car park sits in front of the museum. Should this car park be full, an Angus Council car park is available nearby, at the harbour.

Train

The museum is a 10-15 minute walk from the train station. 

Bus

There are local bus services. Visit Angus Council website for further information.

From Arbroath Bus Station, the museum is approximately a 10 minute walk. No bus stop outside museum.

Bike

Bike rack is located just outside the museum gates.